Is G Fuel Vegan? (Find Out)

G Fuel is a caffeinated energy drink that is intentionally marketed to Esport players as a supplement for gaming. G Fuel’s formula is used by an impressive number of known and elite gamers.

But, is G Fuel vegan?

It may provide various nutrients that benefit your body but, G Fuel is unfortunately not vegan-compliant.

Considered as the official energy drink of Esports, G Fuel has a partnership with the world’s most popular YouTuber known as PewDiePie.

Being the powerful and effective formula that it is, G Fuel has been recognized and named the second annual Inc. 5000 Regionals: New York City Metro list as the most prestigious ranking of the fastest-growing New York City area-based private companies.

Apart from the incredible marketing strategy and promotions, this energy drink formula is known to be an effective formula to increase focus and offers a vast amount of vitamins and antioxidants.

You can get tons of health benefits from a single serving of G Fuel like increased metabolism and serotonin.

Join me as I once again take a deep dive into G Fuel’s ingredients and identify which components can be classified as vegan.

Let’s go!

What is a vegan diet?

A vegan diet is a plant-based diet that includes most fruits, vegetables, beans, and nuts and reduces risks of developing chronic diseases

Vegan diets are found to be associated with increased insulin sensitivity and reductions in cardiovascular diseases. This diet is used to reduce body weight and improve glycemic control.

Vegans avoid food sourced from animals including:

  • Red Meat
  • Duck
  • Chicken
  • Fish
  • Crabs
  • Eggs
  • Cheese
  • Butter
  • Milk and other dairy products
  • Mayonnaise
  • Honey

To get a better grip on this topic, you can watch this video to learn more about what vegans would usually consume.

Watch this video to find out more about vegan-friendly foods.

Going vegan can mean better health and lifestyle. This type of diet could even prevent diverticular disease, gallstones, and constipation.

However, vegan diets can cause serious nutritional deficiencies.

The lack of omega-3 fatty acids and Vitamin B12 can lead to anemia, hormone production concerns and depression.

Before you consider transitioning to a vegan diet or any diet at all, I recommend consulting a professional or your doctor first especially if you have existing or pre-existing health conditions.

G Fuel Nutritional Information

To get a head start, I’ve provided a table of G Fuel’s nutritional label so you can better assess its content.

NutrientsAmount per serving
Calories25 calories
Total Fat0g
Total Carbohydrates5g
Sugars0g
Vitamin C250mg
Vitamin E15IU
Niacin15mg
Vitamin B610mg
Vitamin B12425mcg
Sodium79mg
Energy Complex1.79g
Focus Complex1.2g
Antioxidant Complex26mg
G Fuel’s list of nutritional information.

How many calories does G Fuel has?

A single serving of G Fuel or a 7g scoop of its formula contains about 25 calories.

A calorie is the unit of food energy.  It is necessary for human survival.

Depending on your activity level and resting metabolic rate, you can identify the appropriate daily calorie allowance needed to sustain a healthy weight for your body.

The brain uses about 20% of the energy we consume.

How much caffeine is in G Fuel?

A single serving of G Fuel’s formula contains about 150 mg of caffeine.

G Fuel’s caffeine content is moderate compared to other brands of energy drinks.

However, 150 mg of caffeine per serving is almost half of the daily recommended 400mg intake set by the FDA.

You must be wary of your caffeine consumption as it can lead to serious health complications.

Caffeine is a common stimulant present in coffee and energy drinks. It may increase energy levels temporarily and give you that boost to start your day.

Caffeine is a stimulant that can be found in over 60 plant species. Given this fact, we can conclude that caffeine is vegan! 

However, caffeine can affect people in different ways.

Caffeine tolerance varies from person to person and it may not always be in a good way. Some may be more comfortable consuming caffeine compared to others.

That’s why it’s very important that you understand your body and how it reacts to what you consume.

Ingredients of G Fuel

ingredients list of G Fuel
The energy, focus, and antioxidant complexes in G Fuel’s formula.

G Fuel is made up of 3 complexes that each has their contribution to this amazing formula:

Energy Complex

Energy complex increases energy levels and enhances both your mental physical performance.

  • Taurine
  • L-Citrulline Malate
  • Caffeine
  • Glucuronolactone
  • N-Acetyl-L-Carnitine HCI
  • Velvet Bean Seed Extract

Focus Complex

Focus complex promotes healthy circulation of blood in the brain. It increases memory and brain function making you more alert and focused.

  • L-Tyrosine
  • N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine
  • Adenosine-5-Triphosphate Disodium Salt
  • Toothed Clubmoss
  • Aerial Parts Extract
  • Bacopa Leaf Extract

Antioxidant Complex

Antioxidants slow down cell damage caused by free radicals.

  • Pineapple Fruit Powder
  • Cabbage Palm Berry Powder
  • Pomegranate Fruit Extract
  • Apple Fruit Powder
  • Orange Fruit Powder
  • Blueberry Fruit Powder
  • Grape Seed Powder
  • Grapefruit Fruit Powder
  • Plum Fruit Powder
  • Raspberry Fruit Powder
  • Strawberry Fruit Powder
  • Watermelon Fruit Powder
  • Lemon Fruit Powder
  • Lime Fruit Powder
  • Melon Fruit Powder
  • Sour Cherry Fruit Powder
  • Papaya Fruit Powder
  • Peach Fruit Powder
  • Pyrus communis Fruit Powder

Among the ingredients of the three complexes, you might want to look out for the ingredients L-Tyrosine, and N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine because they could be animal-sourced. Read more on the information below to find out more about these two ingredients.

Are the ingredients in G Fuel vegan?

Generally, G Fuel has almost anything you can look for in an energy drink. However, being vegan-friendly is not one of them.

Here’s a video you can watch to get a clearer picture of G Fuel and its ingredients.

Watch this video to know more about the ingredients in G Fuel.

So now, let’s take a dive into some of G Fuel’s ingredients and identify which components can be vegan classified.

IngredientsDefinitionSourceVegan or not?
TaurineAn amino acid necessary for the body’s metabolic process and is composed of antioxidants that also improves your mental healthSyntheticVegan
L-Citrulline MalateAn amino acid that enhances athletic performance and enhances athletic performance.PlantsVegan
GlucuronolactoneA chemical made by the body that can be found in certain food and created in labs. It may also improve your physical performance.SyntheticVegan
N-Acetyl-L-Carnitine HCIALC is used by people who experience high blood sugar to control their cholesterol levels. It is used to stop cell damage and improve your appetite. It can also be used to aid nerve pain.SyntheticNot Vegan
Velvet Bean Seed ExtractMucuna pruriens is an herbal drug that is used for male infertility, nervous disorders, and aphrodisiac. Potentially shown as substantial medicine, it has been used by the ancient medical system in India to treat Parkinson’s disease.PlantsVegan
L-TyrosineA nonessential amino acid that is involved in the production of norepinephrine and other neurotransmitters. It also helps in melanin production and regulating hormones.SyntheticNot Confirmed
Adenosine-5 Triphosphate DisodiumIt is the central metabolite in the energy metabolism of cells that is rapidly taken by erythrocytes. It is used to enhance athletic performance and operates on both the central and peripheral nervous systems.SyntheticVegan
Toothed ClubmossAn herb used to treat Alzheimer’s disease and memory disorders. It contains a small amount of huperzine A.PlantsVegan
Bacopa Leaf ExtractA plant commonly used to treat cognitive disorders and has been used in traditional Indian Ayurvedic medicine.PlantsVegan
List of ingredients in G Fuel showing their definition, source, and if it’s vegan or not.

Does G Fuel contain sugar?

Without a doubt, G Fuel contains no sugar, thus its sweeteners are vegan-friendly.

This is one of the things I like about this formula. I can enjoy the hydrating feeling and feel more energized without having to worry about my diet being ruined.

Artificial Sweeteners

Nonnutritive sweeteners or commonly known as artificial sweeteners are used as sugar substitutes and are a hundred times sweeter than sugar itself. They are considered a healthier alternative as they contain little to no calories at all.

Artificial sweeteners can help with weight loss and type II diabetes. However, existing evidence suggests that the consumption of artificial sweeteners could cause glucose intolerance and induce metabolic syndrome.

Sucralose

Sucralose or commonly known as the brand Splenda, doesn’t contain any animal-based products. The process of creating sucralose involves replacing three hydroxyl groups on a sucrose molecule with chlorine atoms.

Sucralose can be found and is ubiquitously present in aquatic ecosystems. It is an artificial sweetener that is 600 times sweeter than actual sugar.

Sucralose contains no animal-based product making it generally a vegan-friendly ingredient.

However, vegans don’t consider sucralose as vegan friendly in an ethical sense. This is because a lot of animals were harmed in the process of creating sucralose. Splenda has been experimenting on animals and has killed and tormented a total of 12,800 animals in the year 2000.

Acesulfame Potassium

Acesulfame potassium is considered a mineral salt and has no traces of any animal-based ingredient. So it’s safe to say that acesulfame potassium is a vegan-friendly component.

Acesulfame potassium is a general-purpose sweetener and flavor enhancer. It is about 200 times sweeter than sugar.

To provide a taste similar to sucrose acesulfame potassium is commonly combined with sucralose or aspartame. This combination may also be applied in the process of creating pharmaceuticals more palatable.

Is G Fuel natural?

G Fuel is a natural energy drink formula.

Some of you may tend to deprive yourselves of the possible benefits of consuming energy drinks due to fear of unhealthy and harmful ingredients. Well, you can stop depriving yourselves because G Fuel is a whole different story compared to other energy drink brands.

You won’t be needing to worry about toxic chemicals or additives in this formula.

G Fuel is created as a clean, natural, and healthy alternative to sugar-loaded energy drinks.

Is G Fuel gluten-free?

Apart from being sugar-free and loaded with tons of antioxidants, G Fuel is also gluten-free!

Gluten is considered the main storage of wheat gains. It is a mixture that contains grains and is among the most complex protein networks.

Gluten is used as an additive in processed food in order to enhance texture, moisture and flavor.

Most vegans eat gluten while others do not. This is because some people go vegan because of certain diseases such as celiac disease, and eating foods with gluten can be bad for them.

Either way, gluten is vegan-friendly so you don’t have to worry about that.

Is G Fuel vegan-friendly?

man eating meat
G Fuel is not vegan-compliant.

According to a tweet made by the official Twitter account of G Fuel, their formula is not vegan-compliant.

Some ingredients used in G Fuel’s formula are considered vegan, but not all.

As mentioned in the ingredients, N-Acetyl-L-Carnitine HCI and L-Tyrosine are not vegan-friendly.

This is because L-Carnitine was first isolated from meat and that most dietary carnitine is now taken from animal sources. Most foods today such as meat, fish, and poultry contain high amounts of L-Carnitine, while vegetables and fruits also contain L-Carnitine but only little amounts.

This makes L-Carnitine not vegan.

L-Tyrosine on the other hand is found in most protein-rich foods such as eggs, chicken, red meat, and fish. While foods such as oats, rice, and wheat also contain L-Tyrosine.

L-Tyrosine is mainly sourced from animal protein such as their feathers and in recent years, a new way of producing L-Tyrosine that involved the fermentation method makes it now vegan-friendly and not animal sources.

There are now brands of L-Tyrosine that use this fermentation method but for G Fuel, it is not indicated whether they use the original formula of L-Tyrosine or the newer fermented version of it.

Thus, it is still not confirmed whether G Fuel’s L-Tyrosine ingredient is vegan or not.

Can vegans have G Fuel?

Vegans who give more importance to health benefits can consider drinking G Fuel.

However, if you are an ethical or a dietary vegan then you may have to double think on that because G Fuel is not vegan certified.

Ethical vegans are vegans who take into account that no animals are harmed in any production may it be for food, clothing, and manufacturing. Even in food intake and sourced materials, they avoid materials made from fur, wool, and silk and will not eat anything that involves animal meat.

Dietary vegans on the other hand only eat plant-based. Meaning, they only eat fruits, vegetables, and other food that are harvested from nature. In this way, they are sure that they will not be consuming any animal meat at all costs.

woman eating greens
Dietary vegans only eat plant-based.

Some people also go vegan because it is the healthier choice for them. So here are some pros of not eating animal meat that vegans abide by:

  • High in fibre foods
  • Rich in vitamins and other nutrients
  • Lower risk for heart disease, diabetes, and stroke than to non-vegans
  • Lower death risk than to non-vegans
  • Promotes bone health

But lack of animal meat can also have negative effects if you’re a vegan. Here are some of the cons of not eating animal meat:

  • Lacks omega-3 fatty acids
  • Low in miconutrients such as iron, vitamin D, vitamin B, and vitamin B12
  • High in fat percent
  • Not enough zinc
  • Lack of cholesterol

If you’re a vegan, it’s your choice whether you want to consume G Fuel or not. Keep in mind that there are only 2 ingredients that are not vegan-certified so base you can base your decision on that.

What energy drinks are vegan?

Since G Fuel is not vegan-compliant, let’s take a look at the other energy brands that are totally vegan-friendly that will suit your lifestyle if you’re a vegan reading this right now.

Here is the list of other energy drink brands that you might also know of that are vegan-friendly:

  • Redbull
  • Relentless
  • Boost
  • Emerge
  • Monster
  • Rockstar
  • Lucozade
  • Reign
  • Venom
  • GURU
  • 5-Hour Energy
  • NOS

I personally haven’t tried all of them yet to get the gist of their flavors, caffeine content, and benefits but if you’re a vegan, these other energy drinks are more suitable for you than G Fuel.

Conclusion

G Fuel is a healthy alternative to sugar-loaded energy drinks with 150 mg of caffeine per serving. The formula used by G Fuel contains a vast number of vitamins and antioxidants that help you increase your mental focus while giving you that extra energy.

G Fuel consists of some vegan-friendly ingredients, however, G Fuel is still not vegan-compliant.