X Gamer Is It Gluten Free
X Gamer

Is X-Gamer Gluten-Free? (Complete Information)

Originated from the UK, X-Gamer is a synergy of 27 multi-vitamin complexes, nootropic amino, and 200mg of caffeine. Its formula is perfected exclusively for eSports gamers, enthusiasts, and semi-professional gamers. Their energy drinks are designed to hydrate, increase energy, focus, and endurance so you can last longer while you game.

X-Gamer products come in powder form and can be purchased in sachets or tubs, with a wide selection of 22 flavors as of currently.

Having known this information, X-Gamer is already looking good in its first impressions, but is the brand gluten-free? If you’re allergic to gluten, would this be something you can safely consume?

Without further delay, the answer is that X-Gamer may contain traces of gluten.

Although X-Gamer’s ingredients are generally gluten-free, there is still the possibility of cross-contamination where small traces of gluten can be found in the X-Gamer energy powder mix.

Cross-contamination is the unintentional transference of one bacteria or microorganism from a material to another. Although cross-contamination can be avoided, the chances of it happening during production and manufacturing is still present.

In addition, the brand itself hasn’t stated itself to being gluten-free. If gluten is something you want to avoid, I highly recommend that you reach out directly to the brand to address this concern.

Moving forward, let’s tackle the ingredients found in X-Gamer energy and decipher which ones are gluten-free and which ones are not. Continue reading to learn more about it.

What does gluten-free mean?

Before we dive deeper into details, first, let’s define gluten-free. What does a gluten-free diet mean and what does it do to your body?

A gluten-free diet, also called GFD, is a diet that excludes gluten-containing products from your food. The most common products that contain gluten are wheat, rye, oat, and barley. For a product to be gluten-free, it should not contain any ingredients with gluten.

Gluten is simply a protein that the body usually has no problem digesting, but about 1% of the world’s population suffers from gluten intolerance. Gluten avoidance is usually practiced by these people who avoid consuming gluten-based products.

Their body perceives the protein as an invader, similar to bacteria, and the immune system attacks it, damaging both the protein and the gut lining. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that performs exactly like this. Unfortunately, this has no cure as of the present.

While the cure hasn’t been found yet, the gluten-free diet helps to heal your gut so that your body can absorb the nutrients it needs. This means that if you have celiac disease you have to avoid gluten forever.

Here’s a useful video to help you better understand what a gluten-free diet is:

A gluten-free diet reduces the risks of getting celiac disease. According to experts, an estimated number of 2 million Americans are suffering from celiac disease to date.

X-Gamer Nutrition Facts

Nutritional Information is found on the back of the X-Gamer Energy 10g sachet.

How many calories does X-Gamer have?

A 10g sachet of X-Gamer contains 31 calories.

Compared to other popular powdered energy drinks intended for gamers, this calorie count is above the average. Take a look at this comparison table:

X-Gamer Energy
per 10g serving
Rogue (Energy)
per 6.9g serving
Sneak Energy
per 10g serving
G Fuel Energy Formula
per 7g serving
Calorie count3151225
Comparison of calorie count between X-Gamer Energy and other powdered energy drinks.

In my opinion, if you’re on a strict low-calorie diet, X-Gamer may not be your best option. However, if you’re bound to do a long and strenuous physical and mental activity such as sports training or long hours of gaming, and you’re not too worried about the calories then you definitely could use some extra energy to get you through the day.

How much caffeine does X-Gamer have?

One serving of X-Gamer contains 200mg of caffeine.

This level of caffeine is still within my preference but I can’t recommend this to those with slow caffeine metabolism.

According to the FDA, a healthy adult can consume up to 400mg of caffeine every day. That should be your maximum intake to prevent your body from caffeine overdosing.

So ideally, for safety purposes, you must limit your consumption to only 1 serving a day, If you feel the need for an additional jolt, it’s better to get it from other sources of caffeine that aren’t as intense as X-Gamer, like coffee, tea, and soft drinks.

How much sugar does X-Gamer have?

X-Gamer has a sugar content of 0.2g per sachet serving which is part of the product’s carbohydrates, this is what ‘of which sugars’ refer to. It may sound confusing but this simply means that there’s 0.2g of sugar per sachet which is not a lot compared to a majority of other brands.

X-Gamer’s sugar level allows you to enjoy sugar guilt-free without the added possibility of a sugar crash. According to an article found in Harvard T. H. Chan, the recommended daily intake of sugar is up to 36g (9 teaspoons) for men and 24g (6 teaspoons) for women.

Here’s why you must avoid overconsumption of sugar:

  1. It makes you gain unnecessary weight.
  2. It contributes to high blood pressure.
  3. It contributes to fatty liver disease.
  4. Increases the risk of diabetes.

All of these are linked to an increased risk of heart attack and stroke.

X-Gamer Ingredients List

I certainly haven’t forgotten what you’re really here for. I’ve given you insight into the sugar and the caffeine levels of this product It’s time for a good amount of scrutinizing.

It’s about time we dive into the other products in X-Gamer’s ingredients list found at the bottom right corner of the packet and see if they’re gluten-free.

Is Taurine gluten-free?

While Taurine can be sourced from eggs, meat, and fish, it can also be manufactured through chemical synthesis. Therefore, Taurine can absolutely be gluten-free.

Due to this, taurine is popularly used in gluten-free processed food rather than home cooking recipes.

Taurine, an organic acid, is also commonly used for dietary supplements to those who lack it. It supports nerve growth and plays a role in brain and heart functions.

Is Caffeine gluten-free?

Caffeine or pure coffee in itself is completely gluten-free. Claims of the ingredient containing gluten are actually talking about flavor coffee or coffee creamer where its ingredients can contain gluten-based products.

If you’re on a strict GFD, I suggest you do a deliberate check on the coffee you want to consume, or even go as far as consulting your doctor about caffeinated products that could work for you.

Is Niacin gluten-free?

Niacin is a form of Vitamin B3. This is a vitamin naturally found in a majority of gluten-free vegetables. The raw materials used to produce niacin are synthesized chemical ingredients, therefore, niacin is a gluten-free ingredient.

This vitamin is popular in dietary supplements, health food, and beverages such as energy drinks. One of its health benefits is boosting your brain function.

Is Dextrose Monohydrate gluten-free?

Dextrose Monohydrate is a type of sugar that’s present in X-Gamer as a sweetener, a source of energy and, a bulking agent.

Dextrose can be produced out of wheat (a source of gluten). Fortunately, due to the nature of its production, these traces of gluten are removed through a process of hydrolyzation.

That being said, Dextrose Monohydrate‘s availability in such products makes it a gluten-free ingredient.

Additionally, according to Coeliac UK, a charity that supports people living with celiac disease, Dextrose Monohydrate can safely be consumed by people with the said autoimmune disease.

Is Maltodextrin gluten-free?

Yes, Maltodextrin is gluten-free. Its sources can come from different types of cereal starches such as rice and wheat. Although wheat is a source of gluten, the nature of its processing also goes through hydrolyzation making wheat a gluten-free ingredient.

Maltodextrin is a thickening agent and aside from energy drinks, it is commonly used to make infant formulas as well.

Is Malic acid gluten-free?

Malic acid is responsible for regulating the acidity level of X-Gamer Energy.

The Beth Israel Deaconness Medical Center (BIDMC) has enlisted Malic acid as a gluten-free ingredient. With this, Malic Acid is often used for regulation and as a preservative for a lot of gluten-free products.

Is Citric Acid gluten-free?

Lemon, limes, and other citric fruits are sources of Citric Acid.

Citric acid is commonly used as a preserving agent and flavoring. This compound is commonly found in lemon, limes, and other citric fruit. These fruits are not gluten-producing nor do they naturally contain gluten.

According to the University of Arizona and The Vegetarian Resource Group, Citric Acid is gluten-free.

Is Ascorbic Acid gluten-free?

Ascorbic acid helps in lengthening the shelf-life of a product and thankfully, it’s gluten-free.

Its common form is Vitamin C, popular for its antioxidant properties that helps your cells from free radicals.

Are Flavorings and Colorings gluten-free?

The FDA requires that all major food allergens be declared. But since there are no gluten-based products, such as wheat and barley, are found on the packaging of the X-Gamer Energy sachet and tub, it’s safe to say that the Flavorings and Colorings X-Gamer used are free of those. Otherwise, they would be stated as is required.

Therefore, I conclude that Flavorings and Colorings are gluten-free.

Is Sucralose gluten-free?

Sucralose is a type of artificial sweetener. This is responsible for making X-Gamer taste so sweet in the absence of sugar. It’s zero-calorie and boasts to be 600 times sweeter than table sugar.

Using sucralose instead of sucrose (table sugar), you can avoid sugar-crashing and it lowers that risk of diabetes.

The University of Arizona declared Sucralose as a gluten-free ingredient. Despite the ingredient itself, sucralose is not often tested for cross-contamination of gluten, therefore it’s difficult to assure to be 100% gluten-free.

Is L-Carnitine gluten-free?

L-Carnitine is gluten-free. It is a compound completely different from what gluten is. Gluten is a protein. L-Carnitine is an ammonium compound therefore it’ll be quite impossible to contain gluten.

In fact, the compound is widely used to help celiac disease. There’s a study of how L-Carnitine helps in treating fatigue in adults that have Celiac Disease and this is often used by professional doctors for their patients. That’s your assurance that the compound is doctor-approved to being gluten-free.

L-Carnitine‘s benefits include helping in the production of energy for your body to function at a high performance.

Is L-Tyrosine gluten-free?

L-Tyrosine is an amino acid that enhances your mental performance, memory, and alertness. In a study, Tyrosine has been used to treat patients with depression and celiac disease at the same time. Similar to L-Carnitine, it is an acid completely different from a protein that cannot contain gluten.

In addition, this is also doctor-approved for the consumption of gluten-avoidant people. Therefore, it is safe to say that Tyrosine does not contain gluten.

Vitamins in X-Gamer

Multivitamins may have traces of gluten.

Vitamin C, Vitamin B6, and Vitamin B12 are among the vitamins present in X-Gamer Energy.

Generally speaking, vitamins are essential for your body to function normally. Some of them are naturally produced by your body and some are not.

According to Celiac Disease Foundation, it’s rare for vitamins to naturally contain gluten. However, due to how they’re processed, gluten contamination is possible. The foundation suggests that a look into the ingredients list will definitely help you deliberate whether gluten can be present or not.

Medical professionals on this forum have given their opinion about this possibility in a lot of multivitamins. A majority of them think that the possibility for cross-contamination is definitely there. I recommend you get in touch with a doctor if this is of concern to you.


All in all, X-Gamer Energy isn’t entirely gluten-free. X-Gamer didn’t claim to be one either.

X-Gamer may contain traces of gluten, more likely due to production and manufacturing processes so it’s best to avoid this energy drink if you have celiac disease or want to avoid developing one.

However, if you don’t fall into this group, X-Gamer can be an excellent energy drink choice. It contains low in calories, sugar, and fat.

It has a caffeine level of 200mg, admittedly a bit more powerful than others. It’s great if you really need that intense brain stimulation boost and you have fast caffeine metabolism. But, if you have a low tolerance for caffeine, best to steer clear of X-Gamer.

That’s it! I hope this article was helpful to you.

Other Articles:

Click here to see the story version of this article.