Is Sneak Energy Vegan? (Detailed Investigation)

Energy drinks are formulated to be beneficial and healthy for everyone. Assuming they really are, are their products made healthy at the expense of innocent animals? If you’re vegan, this is probably the first question that pops in your head every time you shop for food.

Fortunately, there are energy brands out there that are vegan-friendly, and one of them is Sneak Energy.

Sneak Energy has been in the business not too long ago. They started in 2018 intending to provide clean energy drinks for the gaming and creative industry.

It can be easy for Sneak Energy to claim that they’re vegan plainly because no animal ingredients were used in the making of their products. But that’s not the only thing to consider. What about the ingredients themselves, where are they sourced?

Is Sneak Energy Vegan? Or was it just marketing?

The brief answer to that is: YES. Most of the ingredients found in Sneak Energy are sourced from plants and can be easily produced in laboratories.

Keep reading to learn the full details of each ingredient found in Sneak Energy.

First and foremost, let’s define what a vegan is.

What does Vegan mean?

Vegan is a type of diet that’s strictly LIMITED to plants such as vegetables, fruits, grains, and nuts, and plant-based products. The people on this diet are referred to as vegans, and they DO NOT consume any type of animal products and animal by-products, such as meat, eggs, dairy products, and all animal-derived ingredients.

Most people adapt to veganism because they don’t want to support animal slaughtering and suffering just for human consumption. Others, simply want to keep a healthy lifestyle by shunning all types of meat.

If you’re thinking of going vegan, this short video is insightful:

This video explains the pros and cons of going vegan.

Sneak Energy Nutritional Facts

Now, let’s go over Sneak’s nutritional facts so you can have a picture of the nutrients we’re looking at in this energy drink, and where exactly they’re coming from.

Sneak Energy Full List of Ingredients

Here’s a full list of ingredients that we will be scrutinizing one by one:

  • L-Tyrosine
  • Alpha GPC
  • Caffeine
  • L-Carnitine
  • Riboflavin
  • Pantothenic Acid
  • Biotin
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Calcium
  • Magnesium
  • L-Taurine
  • Vitamin C
  • Nicotinamide
  • Vitamin B6
  • Thiamin
  • Folic Acid
  • Vitamin B12
  • Maltodextrin
  • Malic Acid
  • Natural Flavours
  • Spirulina Powder (varies on flavors)
  • Sucralose
  • Acesulfame K
  • Silicone Dioxide

Calories in Sneak Energy

A 300ml serving of Sneak Energy contains 12 calories. Compared to other popular brands, this is a low-calorie energy drink. This is perfect if you’re looking to lose weight.

Calories are essential for the body to function normally. Despite being constantly discredited, it’s definitely something you shouldn’t shy away from.

An excessive amount of calories will likely lead to health complications. The recommended caloric intake for women is up to 2,000, and 2,500 for men. With Sneak Energy containing only 12 calories per 300ml serving, excessive intake of calorie won’t be a problem.

Sugar in Sneak Energy: Is it vegan?

To answer the question: yes, Sucralose and Acesulfame K are plant-derived, therefore vegan-friendly ingredients.

Sneak is a sugar-free energy drink, so you won’t find any traces of sucrose in it. But, it’s important to know that it contains artificial sweeteners to substitute sugar.

Sneak Energy is ideal for weight loss because, unlike doughnuts, Sneak is sugar-free.

Artificial Sweeteners: Sucralose and Acesulfame K

You’ve probably heard of artificial sweeteners being toxic for humans, but not these two. Both Sucralose and Acesulfame K are permitted and legal under the “Sweeteners in Food Regulations 1983” issued in Europe.

Caffeine in Sneak Energy: Is it vegan?

Sneak Energy contains 150mg of caffeine per 300ml serving. This is the average level of caffeine for an energy drink. It’s a far cry from caffeine overdosing yet just enough to stimulate your nervous system and get the job done.

Is caffeine vegan though? The answer is: YES.

Caffeine will always be vegan because it can only be sourced from plant species such as coffee beans, tea leaves, kola nuts, etc. No studies were found about caffeine being sourced from animals.

While caffeine helps to keep you purposely awake, alert, and finish tasks vigilantly, it is crucial not to exceed your daily recommended caffeine intake. Going beyond the recommended dose can lead to vomiting, convulsions, coma, and in worse cases even death.

According to a study by Nawrot et. al., (2003), moderate caffeine consumption is up to 400mg per day. This is, of course, applicable if you’re a healthy adult and don’t have medical conditions.

If your caffeine metabolism is pretty slow, go easy on your caffeine consumption and reduce your dose.

Vitamins in Sneak Energy: Are they vegan?

Vitamins are essential for your body to function normally, fortunately, Sneak Energy has lots of it, in many types.

Vitamins in their chemical names can sound intimidating especially if you’re not a medical professional, so I made a table to make my explanation easy to follow and understand.

ComponentFunctionIs it vegan? (Yes/No)
Vitamin B1
(Thiamin)
Plays a role in glucose metabolismYes
Vitamin B2
(Riboflavin)
Turns food into energyYes
Vitamin B3
(Niacin)
Responsible for releasing energy from carbohydratesYes
Vitamin B5
(Panthothenic Acid)
Converts nutrients into energy and breaks down fatty acidsYes
Vitamin B6
(Pyridoxine)
Helps form hemoglobinYes
Vitamin B7
(Biotin)
Help keep the skin, hair, eyes, and liver healthyYes
Vitamin B12
(Cobalamin)
Maintains the health of nerves and blood cellsYes
Vitamin C
(Ascorbic Acid)
Protects and keeps the cells healthyYes
Lists of vitamins found in Sneak Energy, indicating whether each one is vegan or not.

*DISCLAIMER: Riboflavin, Biotin, and Cobalamin, may or may not be vegan because these vitamins can be sourced from both plants and meat. But since Sneak Energy claims to be vegan, it’s assumed that they opted for the plant-based ones.*

Other Notable Ingredients in Sneak Energy

This is what it looks like on the back of the Sneak Energy sachet:

A full list of ingredients with their corresponding quantity is found on the back of the Sneak Energy 10g sachet.

Is L-Tyrosine vegan?

L-tyrosine is a substance that is naturally found in your body and also can be synthesized through the use of meat, dairy products, nuts, oats, wheat, etc. According to research, L-tyrosine can alleviate stress levels and may help in treating depression, thus promotes alertness, focus, and other beneficial mental functions.

When taken in large amounts, L-tyrosine can be excessively stimulating and can increase your thyroxine levels. This then can lead to complications such as hyperthyroidism and Graves disease.

It’s recommended to avoid intake of L-Tyrosine before bedtime.

So, is it vegan? Yes, L-Tyrosine is vegan. There is no need for any animal in its production.

Is Alpha GPC vegan?

Alpha GPC (A-GPC) is quite a popular compound for athletes to boost their performance. There’s a study that proves A-GPC to be effective in strengthening the lower body’s force, making this a powerful ingredient to help you last longer in sports. Additionally, A-GPC is capable of increasing the brain levels of a neurotransmitter called Acetylcholine, a brain chemical essential for memory and learning.

Although A-GPC is naturally produced by your body, it is often insufficient. Therefore its involvement in your diet fulfills the body’s need for it and steers you clear from deficiency.

This natural choline can be sourced from both animals and plants. Sneak Energy’s vegan statement can be taken to assume that they opt for the plant derivative of the choline.

In that case, Alpha GPC IS VEGAN.

Is Sodium vegan?

Although the presence of sodium in any diet is usually criticized, the ingredient itself is not actually harmful in appropriate amounts. Sodium is simply salt. Not only is this commonly added as flavoring to food but your body naturally produces this.

The human body contains a concentrated sodium chloride amount of 0.4 percent of the body’s total weight. This means that a person weighing 500kg would naturally contain 200mg of sodium in their body.

Beyond body production, salt is a mineral, and minerals are mined naturally from the earth. Mining doesn’t require and will very rarely involve the participation of any sort of animal therefore, sodium (salt) is vegan.

Is Potassium vegan?

Potassium is a mineral that is a counterpart of sodium with which their function is parallel to each other. The mineral helps maintain necessary fluid inside the cells, whereas sodium focuses on fluid outside the cells.

There are a selection of animals, like salmon and turkey, where small amounts of potassium can be found, but rich amounts of the mineral is mostly present in plants and vegetables.

Considering potassium is richly found in vegan derivatives, you can easily attain the nutrition without opting for animal sources. A healthy vegan diet would normally include a sufficient amount of potassium.

Plants that are rich in potassium are:

  • banana
  • potatoes
  • avocado
  • peanuts
  • lentils
  • squash
  • soya beans
  • apricot
  • acorn

With the vast choices of plant-based derivatives where potassium can be acquired, it’s safe to assume that Sneak Energy’s potassium is sourced from these plants, and is, therefore, vegan.

Is Calcium vegan?

You might be well aware that calcium is often found in dairy products such as milk, cheese, and yogurt. Word has gone around that dairy production involves processes that are unethical and harmful to animals.

Being widely sourced from animals, calcium tend to be difficult to fulfill in the vegan diet, but you don’t need to worry! There are numerous replacements that provide calcium that steers clear of harming any animals.

There are various plants and vegetables that contain rich amounts of calcium. Some of these have even been produced to replace a ton of dairy products such as almonds and soy being manufactured as milk replacements. Other sources are tofu, kale, orange juice, and brussels.

With the presence and availability of these alternatives and as long as these plant replacements are used, you can safely write out calcium as being vegan.

Is Magnesium vegan?

Magnesium is a mineral that can be sourced from both animals and plants, and can also be found naturally in the body. Although the mineral can be found in most meats, they are commonly extremely low in percentage.

It is usually in plant sources where rich production in magnesium is found. Beyond that, magnesium is a mineral that can be naturally found, making up 2% of the Earth’s crust. In this case, despite being found in some animal sources, magnesium is naturally occurring and abundant in plant derivatives, making it vegan.

Is Folic Acid vegan?

Folic acid is also commonly known as vitamin B9 that the body uses for the production of new cells. This specific vitamin is synthetic, created from its natural origin called ‘folate’ which is a vitamin naturally occurring in leafy vegetables.

The synthetic creation of folic acid has been adjusted to function better compared to its natural origin. Being synthetic means that the vitamin can be produced in laboratories without the harmful involvement of any animals, making folic acid completely vegan.

Is L-Taurine vegan?

L-Taurine is another amino acid that is commonly found in humans, animals, and dairy products. This nutrient maintains both the nervous and immune systems, and activating antioxidants.

The presence of L-Taurine in plants is a bit of a grey area for vegans. Although there’s a claim that L-Taurine is not found in plants, this study argues that it can, in fact, be found in seaweeds.

But there is good news! Despite its limited plant-based sources, L-taurine can be synthesized in laboratories through processes that don’t require any harmful acts to animals. Therefore, you can rest easy knowing that taurine in Sneak Energy is vegan.

Is L-Carnitine vegan?

Unlike L-Taurine, it is positive that L-carnitine (LC) is found in both animal products and plants. It’s also naturally produced by the body sufficiently for your needs. Newborns and people with medical conditions who are likely to produce lesser amounts usually resort to supplements to make up for the lost nutrients.

In addition, L-carnitine is a pretty popular supplement used by highly trained athletes because it plays a role in energy production.

Not only is LC necessary and beneficial to your body, and its availability in plant ingredients makes it VEGAN in Sneak Energy drink.

Is Malic Acid vegan?

Malic Acid is a hundred percent vegan.

One of the sources of Malic Acid is carrots.

The chemical can be found in fruits such as grapes, watermelons, and cherries, and vegetables such as carrots and broccoli.

Malic Acid is commonly known to be a preserving agent and acidity regulator. It’s what’s responsible for maintaining Sneak Energy’s shelf life significantly long, keeping them fresh and available to you.

According to a study done by the EFSA, this food additive is permitted and is safe for human consumption without limit in the European Union.

Is Maltodextrin vegan?

Maltodextrin is a food additive which source comes from plants only, commonly from starches. While it bears a variety of uses, it commonly serves as a thickener and filler for products. It’s also used to extend a product’s shelf life.

It is normally used in products such as:

  • Energy Drinks
  • Ready-to-heat Meals
  • Yogurts
  • Condiments
  • Sauces
  • Artificial Sweeteners

Like Malic Acid, Maltodextrin can’t be derived from animals, and with that, you can be confident that this substance is vegan-friendly.

Are Natural Flavours vegan?

This one can be a bit tricky. When we say “natural flavors”, it can refer to a variety of things. It could mean that some ingredients are vegan like fruit extracts and some that are not. The worse part is this label can be used by some brands to hide ingredients that aren’t really vegan.

The FDA doesn’t require brands to disclose these ‘secret ingredients’ so it’s unlikely a brand will list them out on their websites. The only way to find out is to give brands a call or send them an email to inquire.

I’ve attempted to contact myself but never got a response. You can choose to trust the label vegan claim and leave it at that. But if you are unsure, you can reach out to them yourself.

Is Spirulina powder vegan?

Spirulina powder is used in Sneaker Energy as a natural food coloring. It’s a superfood commonly considered to be algae which is a plant, and is packed with iron, increases energy, and lowers cholesterol levels.

Although various spirulina products such as supplements can contain other non-vegan ingredients in their mix, spirulina and the powder itself are completely plant-based.

Therefore, spirulina powder found in Sneak Energy is VEGAN.

Is Silicone Dioxide vegan?

This ingredient prevents powdered mixes, such as food seasoning and energy drink powder, from sticking to each other or clumping.

The name ‘silicone’ sounds a bit intimidating until you do your research. It’s actually safe and beneficial when used in proper amounts. A study also found that there is no indication of adverse effects and genotoxicity in Silicon Dioxide as a food additive.

Yes, it is safe for human consumption, but is it vegan?

It’s a definite YES, because Silicone Dioxide can be synthesized from green leafy vegetables and some type of grains. The use of animal products isn’t necessary to produce such nutrients.

Conclusion

With all of that thorough analysis, it’s safe to say that EVERY ingredient found in Sneak Energy is either a plant derivative or can synthesized without involving animals in the process.

Sneak Energy doesn’t contain animal products or animal-sourced ingredients, at least from my analysis. And so no animals were harmed in the making of this energy drink. Here’s Sneak Energy’s statement on the matter.

All Sneak products are now Vegan friendly!”

Sneak Energy

Therefore, if you’re vegan, you can consume Sneak Energy guilt-free!