Zipfizz has been a go-to energy drink for many Americans for many years now. What with the product’s benefits and effectiveness, I wouldn’t be surprised it’s a favorite.
But is Zipfizz good for a vegan diet?
Due to its taurine content, Zipfizz can’t be considered a vegan product. The brand also stated this on their official Twitter account.
I’ll discuss more on that in a bit. For now, I have more dietary information to offer, if you’re interested, keep on reading.
What does vegan mean?
A vegan is someone who practices veganism.
Veganism is more than just excluding animals and animal-derived products from its diet. It is a way of life. Although veganism has grown into various classifications, generally this diet avoids meat, fish, and dairy products.
Veganism doesn’t support the use of any product from any type of animal exploitation which includes but is not limited to:
So what do vegans eat?
A vegan diet includes the following:
- whole grains
- or any type of food that is completely plant-based
Veganism sounds extremely tedious having to avoid a wide variety of products. So why do people do it?
Here are a few of the reasons why:
- To advocate for animal cruelty
- To improve one’s diet
- To lessen one’s carbon footprint
- To live sustainably
As you can see, veganism is definitely beneficial in various ways. Although somewhat restricting, it’s surely for a good cause. If you’re a vegan looking to try Zipfizz, make sure to read on.
Zipfizz Nutritional Information
As shown in the photo, Zipfizz has a long list of ingredients ranging from vitamins, minerals, to antioxidants. We’ll go through each one to find out whether they’re all vegan-ingredient or not, and scrutinize the benefit of each.
Calories in Zipfizz
Zipfizz has 20 calories per serving.
This number is low for caloric content which means Zipfizz won’t interfere with your diet plans whether you’re trying to lose weight or simply want to cut back on calories to avoid some types of illnesses related to overconsumption of calories like obesity.
Seeing as a calorie is a unit of energy and not a specific ingredient, you don’t have to worry about this being vegan or not.
Caffeine in Zipfizz
A single-serving of Zipfizz contains 100mg of caffeine.
Compared to other powdered energy drinks in the market, this caffeine level is low. You can have a serving of Zipfizz every day without having to worry about overdosing on caffeine. The drawback? One serving might be too weak and not as effective for those people with a high tolerance for caffeine, that have increased over time.
The caffeine used in Zipfizz is Caffeine Anhydrous. It is sourced from the leaves and seeds of coffee plants.
According to this study, caffeine anhydrous is an effective substance to increase your performance, especially during high-intensity workouts.
Is caffeine in Zipfizz vegan?
Definitely! Caffeine Anhydrous is made from natural substances such as plant seeds and leaves, therefore, it’s vegan.
Caffeine in general is occurring naturally in plant species. Some of the popular plant sources are coffee and tea leaves, kola nuts, and cocoa beans.
Sugar in Zipfizz
Zipfizz does not contain any sugar.
Sugar raises health risks and it’s good to know that the market today has sugar-free options on food and drinks that are normally sugar-loaded like energy drinks.
Here are some reasons to avoid excessive sugar:
- reduces the risk of obesity
- reduces the risk of heart disease
- reduces the risk of type 2 diabetes
- reduces the risk of high blood pressure
- reduces the risk of fatty liver disease
- reduces the risk of dental-related problems
Well with the lack of sugar content, how come Zipfizz tastes so sweet?
Well, Zipfizz uses artificial sweeteners instead of table sugar.
Artificial Sweeteners in Zipfizz
Zipfizz contains artificial sweeteners called Sucralose and Xylitol.
Both components are low in calories and are a hundred times sweeter than sucrose (table sugar). This means, only a small amount of these elements are needed in the formulation of Zipfizz.
There’s a lot of mixed opinions about the use of artificial sweeteners in your food amongst nutritionists. Concern on the use of these is usually acquainted with excessive consumption.
As is with most food, excessive consumption will lead you to certain health risks and I doubt that artificial sweeteners are exempted from this.
I personally find the effect of artificial sweeteners on my body a lot better than sugar therefore I do not mind its inclusion in the mix.
But that’s just me, watch this video and decide for yourself:
Are you team artificial sweeteners or team natural sugars?
Are Sucralose and Xylitol vegan?
Sucralose is vegan. It doesn’t contain any animals or animal-derived products nor does it involve human participation in obtaining the ingredient.
Xylitol is also vegan. It is commonly made from birch tree bark and corn, if not, from other plants. Xylitol is a natural vegan sugar.
Zipfizz Ingredients List
Not that we’ve tackled the main ingredients, let’s dive into the rest of the formula.
Are the vitamins in Zipfizz vegan?
Vitamins are important nutrients in your diet. They are needed for your cells to function normally and support their growth. Fortunately, Zipfizz has loads of them. Let’s find out whether they’re great for a vegan diet or not.
|Vitamin||Source||Can it be plant-based? (Yes/No)|
|Vitamin C – Ascorbic Acid||Ascorbic acid is popular for boosting your immune system. It is commercially produced from glucose which is produced from starches such as corn.||Yes|
|Vitamin E – Tocopherol||Vitamin E is a kind of antioxidant the fights against free-radical that damages your body cells. This vitamin can only be sourced from plants. Its best sources are sunflower, safflower, soybean oil, and wheat germ oil.||Yes|
|Vitamin B1 – Thiamin||Thiamin helps convert the food you eat into energy. It can come from both animals and plants. Its availability in plants makes it possible to have vegan thiamin.||Yes|
|Vitamin B2– Riboflavin||This B Vitamin helps in maintaining your body’s energy supply. Riboflavin is widely found in plants such as green leafy vegetables and whole grains. In rare cases, vitamin B12 can be derived from animal sources. The VRG has labeled Riboflavin and Niacin as “typically vegan”.||Yes|
|Vitamin B3 – Niacin||Niacin helps maintain your nervous system. It is widely available in plants like peanuts, quinoa, sweetcorn, and acorn squash. Just like Riboflavin, Niacin can be found in animals, therefore it’s also “typically vegan” as per the VRG.||Yes|
|Vitamin B5 – Pantothenic Acid||Vitamin B5, also known as Pantothenic Acid, plays a role in your metabolic function. It is found in animals and numerous plant foods. It can also be produced through chemical synthesis. Having plants as a source makes it possible to make vitamin B5 a vegan product.||Yes|
|Vitamin B6 – Pyridoxine||Pyridoxine helps keep your immune system healthy. Its best sources include avocados, pistachios, wheat germ, and bananas. Therefore, yes, Vitamin B6 can be delivered without exploiting animals.||Yes|
|Vitamin B9 – Folate||Folate supports tissue growth. It is available in plants, animals, and can be synthetically produced in laboratories. Popular plan sources of folate are spinach, asparagus, and legumes.||Yes|
|Vitamin B12 – Cobalamin||Vitamin B12 helps in keeping your blood and nerve cells healthy. While it’s popularly sourced from meat, eggs, and cheese, it can also be made from selected soy products and cereals.||Yes|
Are the minerals in Zipfizz vegan?
Like vitamins, minerals are essential to keep your body functioning at its optimal state. The best examples are calcium to keep your bones healthy and sodium to balance the fluid in your body.
Here are the minerals found in Zipfizz:
- Magnesium (Electrolyte)
- Sodium (Electrolyte)
All of the minerals in the formulation of Zipfizz are available in plants and can be sourced without exploiting any animals. Find out which plants can you get each mineral from, here.
Is the amino acid in Zipfizz vegan?
The only amino acid Zipfizz has is Taurine.
Taurine, along with caffeine, is a popular ingredient combo among energy drinks, and Zipfizz is no exemption to this. There is a study that supports taurine being an effective ingredient in increasing athletes’ performance.
While taurine is available in both animals and plants and can be created synthetically, Zipfizz admitted that its products are not vegan due to their taurine content. I supposed Zipfizz opted for the animal-derived taurine ingredient to use in their formulation.
Are the antioxidants in Zipfizz vegan?
Zipfizz calls this group the “Botanical Antioxidant Blend.”Antioxidant’s main role is to protect your body cells from being damaged by free radicals. According to a study, these free radicals cause chronic illnesses such as cancers and diabetes.
Here’s what makes up the Botanical Antioxidant Blend:
- Caffeine anhydrous
- Guarana seed extract
- Green tea leaf extract
- Alpha-lipoic acid
- Green coffee bean extract
- Grape seed extract
- Grape skin extract
Seeing as all of these ingredients are all-natural and plant-based, therefore they are all vegan.
Is Zipfizz keto-friendly?
Zipfizz works for a keto diet.
A keto diet is reducing your carbohydrates intake and replacing it with fats. Its purpose is to lower your blood sugar and insulin levels. It is a popular diet among people who wants to lose weight or control their diabetes.
A serving of Zipfizz contains 2g of carbohydrates. This is an extremely low count for carbs content.
That being said, if you’re on a keto diet then you can certainly reach out for a serving of Zipfizz.
Is Zipfizz gluten-free?
Zipfizz has a label that says it is gluten-free on its packaging.
Additionally, after thoroughly analyzing Zipfizz’s formulation, I didn’t find any gluten or gluten-based ingredients in it.
Although gluten cross-contamination can typically happen during manufacturing processes, the complete lack of gluten ingredients removes this possibility entirely.
Is Zipfizz actually healthy?
Zipfizz does not advertise itself as a health beverage, but it’s a good option for an energy drink.
It contains no sugar and is low in calories and carbohydrates. Its formula is packed with vitamins and minerals to keep your body functioning properly. It has electrolytes to keep you from dehydration. And it has loads of antioxidants to keep strengthen your immune system.
Although the relative ‘healthy effect’ of the product is dependent on your consumption, a serving a day will surely be beneficial to your body.
Is it okay to drink Zipfizz every day?
Yes, it’s fine to have Zipfizz every day.
Zipfizz, being an energy drink, is filled with enough amounts of caffeine and vitamins in its 11g serving that its daily consumption will be perfectly fine.
Amongst others, its caffeine is on the lower side so you won’t have to worry about an overdose. It contains only 20 calories per serving which will provide you fuel for the day but won’t contribute to your weight significantly. And it’s also sugar-free!
Zipfizz will definitely provide you the necessary boost and concentration you need every day.
Zipfizz is not a vegan-friendly energy drink because it contains taurine in its formulation. So if you’re vegan, you can go ahead and skip Zipfizz energy drinks.
Besides this, Zipfizz remains a great energy drink that can boost your energy and mental functions to support you with your daily activities, especially the ones that require physical energy like sports training, or mental energy such as gaming.