Is Zipfizz Gluten-Free? (All-Included)

There’s no need to hold yourself back from satisfying yourself with a cool and hydrating energy drink with the fear of ruining your lifestyle choices or your diet.

A lot of energy drink brands nowadays are doing their best to be able to cater to a diverse group of individuals.

If you’re on a certain diet, let’s say a gluten-free diet, why would you deprive yourself of an energizing energy drink to help you with a long and tiring day when there are gluten-free energy drinks all over the world?

One energy drink for example is Zipfizz.

Zipfizz consist of ingredients that are considered free from gluten or any gluten sources, therefore, this energy drink is gluten-free.

An answer like this is only believable if it’s backed with scientific and medical claims, so without further ado, let’s begin.

Let’s start by defining what gluten-free really is.

What is gluten-free?

According to the FDA, a product may be labeled as “gluten-free” if it contains less than 20 parts per million or ppm.

Gluten is a complex mixture of numerous types of proteins, mainly gliadin and glutenin; it is considered the main storage of wheat grain.

Speaking of, here’s a fun fact, did you know the term gluten came from an old Latin word for glue considering its consistency when mixed with liquid?

As fun as gluten sounds, people with celiac disease may be greatly harmed by this protein.

It’s an obvious fact that a lot of food contains gluten, so you might be wondering what and how a gluten-free diet actually works, let’s check it out.

What is a gluten-free diet?

A gluten-free diet is simply the practice of consuming anything except for wheat, rye, and triticale.

To get you all fired up for this discussion, have a look at this short video.

Watch this video to know more about a gluten-free diet.

For those of you on a gluten-free diet, you should be extra alert with the content label on the products you buy during grocery. Apart from gluten, wheat, barley, and rye, watch out for products with malt and hydrolyzed vegetable protein.

Malt is made from barely which doesn’t free this component from gluten, while hydrolyzed vegetable protein often contains wheat.

When implementing a gluten-free diet you must know that the food you eat is quite limited.

The following are considered gluten-free and can be consumed by anyone practicing a gluten-free diet:

  • Beans
  • Tapioca
  • Quinoa
  • Chia
  • Soy
  • Potato
  • Arrowroot

Just to let you know, you cannot eat bread, tortilla, pasta, cookies, or even donuts when you’re on a gluten-free diet.

Come to think of it, a gluten-free diet does sound boring if you’re not that creative with recipes; however, this diet does bring amazing benefits to your health.

What are the pros of a gluten-free diet?

Apart from the fact that a gluten-free diet is the only treatment for celiac disease, a gluten-free diet offers a variety of positive health impacts.

People with celiac disease are forced to comply with this kind of diet. They cannot tolerate even the slightest amount of gluten since this protein triggers an immune response that damages the lining of their small intestine, resulting to osteoporosis, infertility, nerve damage, and seizures.

Anyway, here’s a list of other positive health impacts of being on a gluten-free diet:

  • improvement of gastrointestinal symptoms
  • improvement of nongastrointestinal symptoms
  • helps with irritable bowel syndrome
  • helps with weight loss
  • reduced lactose intolerance
  • helps with joint pain
  • alleviates depression
  • reduces bloating

However, a gluten-free diet may not always be advisable, you’ll get all the details as soon as we move to the next discussion.

What are the cons of a gluten-free diet?

Besides the fact that you have to give up some of the most delicious treats like pizza, cookies, and bread, there have been rising concerns regarding this diet plan.

Here is a list of possible side effects caused by practicing a gluten-free diet:

  • fiber deficiency
  • lack of vitamins and nutrients
  • increased risk of type II diabetes

Various types of diets are being preached now, before considering a specific eating plan, you must educate yourself with the facts and risks involved, it’s not always about hopping on the trend train.

We’ve covered everything you need to know about gluten-free, now it’s time to take a look at this formula so we can verify if Zipfizz is gluten-free.

Nutritional Information

Let’s start by taking a look at Zipfizz’s nutritional label.

zipfizz nutritional information
Zipfizz’s nutritional information.

It’ll be much easier to look at if I put these details on a table for you.

So take a good look at this table and go through the nutrients you can get from drinking a single serving of Zipfizz.

Nutritional ValueAmount
Calories20 kcal
Carbohydrates2 g
Vitamin C500 mg
Vitamin E15 IU
Thiamin0.75 mg
Riboflavin0.85 mg
Niacin10 mg
Vitamin B61 mg
Folate200 mcg
Vitamin B122,500 mcg
Pantothenic Acid5 mg
Calcium60 mg
Magnesium100 mg
Zinc7.5 mg
Selenium35 mcg
Copper0.25 mg
Manganese1 mg
Chromium60 mcg
Sodium75 mg
Potassium950 mg
Caffeine100 mg
Zipfizz’s nutritional information.

Hope you got a good look at this formula’s nutritional info since you must be aware of what you consume.

Now, for those of you who are strictly monitoring your nutrient or macro intake, you may have noticed that some contents in the formula can be concerning given their amount in the formula.

You could do thorough research on the nutritional components of Zipfizz or you could just read this article.

Now, let’s have a look at this formula’s caffeine content.

Caffeine Content

A serving of Zipfizz contains 100 mg of caffeine.

The recommended daily consumption of caffeine is limited to a maximum of 400 mg.

Caffeine is a stimulant drug found in the leaves and seeds of various plant species.

This drug can heighten your reaction times and energy levels by stimulating your nervous system; however, these effects only last so long.

What is caffeine made of? And more importantly, is it gluten-free?

Let’s find out.

Is caffeine gluten-free?

The coffee beans used to make caffeine are gluten-free.

coffee beans
Zipfizz contains 100 mg of caffeine.

Every coffee bean is considered gluten-free, caffeine is made through the process of heating or burning coffee beans; thus, caffeine is gluten-free.

But, what about sugar? Is sugar gluten-free?

I believe that question won’t be necessary since you won’t be finding any in this formula.

Sugar Content

Zipfizz contains no sugar in its formula.

So there’s no need to worry about the possible health consequences bought by excessive sugar consumption such as developing chronic heart disease, cancer, and diabetes.

Since that discussion didn’t take that long, let’s move on to this formula’s ingredients.

Are the ingredients in Zipfizz gluten-free?

Let’s take a look at the table I provided wherein I identify if the ingredients of Zipfizz are gluten-free or not.

IngredientGluten-free or not?
Alpha-Lipoic ExtractGluten-free
Green Tea Leaf ExtractGluten-free
Grape Skin ExtractGluten-free
Grape Seed ExtractGluten-free
Green Coffee Bean ExtractGluten-free
List of Zipfizz’s ingredients and whether or not they’re gluten-free.

As seen in the table above, the ingredients used to create this formula don’t contain any gluten, therefore, Zipfizz is gluten-free.

The ingredients used in Zipfizz are mostly antioxidants, botanical antioxidants to be exact.

Let’s now know more about the ingredients of Zipfizz and why they’re considered gluten-free.

Alpha-Liopoic Extract

Alpha-Lipoic extract is an antioxidant that is used to treat nerve-related conditions. It prevents cell damage and can restore certain vitamins in your body.

By working as an antioxidant, this ingredient protects your brain from any damage or injury.

Why is alpha-lipoic extract gluten-free?

Alpha-lipoic can be found in yeast, liver, kidney, potatoes, and can even be made in a lab, therefore, it is gluten-free.

Green Tea Leaf Extract

Green tea extract contains caffeine and has been proven to reduce to lower your cholesterol levels, and even reduce the risk of cancer.

However, this ingredient may come with risks such as withdrawal symptoms if you suddenly decide to stop consuming it.

Why is green tea leaf extract gluten free?

Green tea leaf extract is made from dried green tea leaves from certain plants compounds like catechins, since no gluten can be traced from these compounds, green tea leaf extract can be considered gluten-free.

grapefruit
The ingredients in Zipfizz are gluten-free.

Grape Skin Extract

Grape skin is the outer layer of a grape, a known versatile fruit that provides loads of nutrients and antioxidants. It has high phytonutrient resveratrol contents which are good for your cardiovascular health.

Why is grape skin extract gluten-free?

Grape skin extract is gluten-free since it is made from grapes; a fruit that is naturally free from any gluten.

Grape Seed Extract

Grape seed extracts contain various antioxidants and have shown evidence of a positive impact on the heart. Apart from this, it can reduce swelling caused by injury and has the components that help with skin damage to wound healing.

Why is grape seed extract gluten-free?

As I’ve mentioned, grape is naturally free from gluten, grape seed extract comes from grape, therefore, it is gluten-free.

Green Coffee Bean Extract

Green coffee bean extract has been used in various weight loss and health supplements, I believe it has a lot to do with the fact that it has high levels of chlorogenic acids, a component known to promote weight loss.

Why is green coffee bean extract gluten-free?

Green coffee bean extract is made from beans that haven’t been heated or roasted, and as you might remember from our discussion earlier, caffeine is free from gluten, thus, green coffee bean extract is gluten-free.

Now, let’s find out what sweeteners are used in this formula.

What is Zipfizz sweetened with?

Instead of regular sugar, Zipfizz uses artificial sweeteners as its substitute for sugar.

Artificial sweeteners are common in numerous food and drink products because of their low to zero-calorie profile and their sweetness levels.

Zipfizz uses the artificial sweeteners xylitol and sucralose.

Let’s know more about these sweeteners and find out if they’re gluten-free or not.

What is xylitol?

Xylitol is mostly used as a refined sweetener in various products; however, this artificial sweetener doesn’t contain any vitamins, minerals, or protein.

Is xylitol gluten-free?

Xylitol is a sweetner derived from natural sources and is considered gluten-free.

What is sucralose?

Sucralose is known to be a semisynthetic sweetener made from modifying the chemical structure of sucrose, this process is done by replacing three hydroxyls with chlorine atoms.

This artificial sweetener contains no calories and is a hundred times sweeter than sugar.

The best part? It has no after-taste.

Is sucralose gluten-free?

Artificial sweeteners like sucralose are considered to be free from gluten.

Is Zipfizz vegan?

vegetables
Zipfizz is not vegan.

According to an official statement made by Zipfizz via Twitter, their formula is not vegan due to its taurine content.

A product can be considered as vegan or vegan-friendly if the said product does not contain any components made from any animal product or by-product.

There are many circumstances in that lives have been harmed or ended for the sake of a product’s production or development brands, and products that have caused such cannot be considered vegan as well.

Taurine Content

Taurine can either be extracted directly from animals or is made synthetically in a lab.

However, from the looks of it, the taurine used in Zipfizz’s formula is not from a synthetic process, otherwise, they wouldn’t have released an official statement implying that their formula is not vegan.

Taurine is an amino sulfonic acid that plays a vital role in the cardiovascular system.

Taurine sounds pretty healthy, and it actually is, but let’s see if Zipfizz as a whole is healthy for you.

Is Zipfizz healthy for you?

Generally, Zipfizz is consists of healthy ingredients that may provide you numerous health benefits.

However, there are concerns regarding the number of ingredients in the formula.

As we all know, excessive consumption of anything may lead to unwanted side effects, no matter how good or healthy that thing or ingredient might be.

If you want to know more about whether or not you can drink Zipfizz every day, then check out this article.

Other energy drink brands that are gluten-free

While we did conclude that the ingredients used in formulating Zipfizz are gluten-free, there has been no official statement coming from Zipfizz that their formula is gluten-free.

monster energy
There are many other energy drinks that are gluten-free

Given this, you might want to try other energy drinks that have already been verified as gluten-free.

Here’s a list of energy that has already been confirmed and labeled as gluten-free:

  • NOS Energy Drink
  • Monster Energy
  • Red Bull
  • Rockstar
  • 5-Hour Energy
  • Sobe Elixir Energy

I suggest that you try Zipfizz first and get a feel of it. If you don’t like it, then feel free to choose any other gluten-free energy drink listed above if that’s what you’re looking for.

To end this article, let me finish this off with a brief conclusion.

Conclusion

Zipfizz is an energy drink filled with various vitamins and minerals, it has a caffeine content of 100 mg per serving and contains no sugar.

Zipfizz is made from ingredients that have been medically and scientifically proven to be free from any gluten.

Other Related Articles:

Where to buy Zipfizz?

How many Zipfizz can you drink in a day?